Skip to content

About Snow

Snow College was founded in 1888 as the Sanpete Stake Academy by members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. In 1900 it was renamed Snow Academy in honor of Lorenzo Snow, president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and his cousin Erastus, who was instrumental in settling the Sanpete Valley.

The institution went through three more name changes in a seven-year period. In 1917, the academy era ended and the school became Snow Normal College. In 1922, officials renamed the school Snow Junior College only to change it one year later to Snow College. In 1931, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints divested itself of Snow College and it became a state supported institution.

Over the years, Snow College had been the educational, artistic, musical and sports center of Central Utah. Encouraged by Snow's high academic standards and dedication to the pursuit of knowledge, thousands of graduates have gone on to earn higher degrees at colleges and universities throughout the country. Thousands of others have graduated from Snow fully prepared to find employment in a wide variety of fields.

The Basics 

• Main campus is located in Ephraim, Utah – 120 miles south of Salt Lake City
• There are two campuses – one in Ephraim and another in Richfield, Utah
• Snow College serves the Six-County area in Utah including: Juab, Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier and Wayne Counties. However, students from the Wasatch Front and throughout Utah attend and are welcome at Snow College


      • Ephraim campus comprises 26 buildings – 14 academic, on 82 acres
      • Found on Ephraim campus – Eccles Center for the Performing Arts (89,000 sq. ft including a concert hall and theatre), Activity Center (athletic activities, including swimming, for campus and community), art gallery located in the Humanities Building and Noyes Building (oldest building on campus was restored in 1999).
      • Richfield campus comprises 7 buildings on 56 acres
      • Found on Richfield campus – Sevier Valley Center (139,000 sq. ft. including an indoor arena, theatre and classrooms) and Administration Building – both facilities are used extensively for conferences
      • There are six deans over six divisions and 35 departments at Snow College including: Business & Technology, Fine Arts, Humanities, Natural Sciences & Mathematics, Social & Behavioral Science and Career Technology Education
      • Approxiatmely 350 faculty and staff


      • 5,100+ undergraduates
      • 55% female
      • 45% male

College Profile

Located in Ephraim in the beautiful mountain-rimmed Sanpete valleys of central Utah just south of Provo, Snow College has been the right place for many students since its founding by Mormon pioneers in 1888. Every year, over 5,000 students attend Snow College with aims to transfer to four-year institutions or enter the workforce after earning a Bachelor of Music degree, an Associate degree, or one of the many certificates offered at the college.

Because of the small size of Snow’s student body, students receive more personal attention and specialized help from professors and advisors. The result is Snow students are recruited and succeed better at Utah’s 4-year institutions more than any other junior college in the state.

The mission of Snow College – to educate students, to inspire them to love learning and to lead them to serve, cannot be accomplished without an outstanding faculty. Snow professors are unencumbered by research unlike their counterparts at 4-year institutions. This allows Snow faculty to focus on teaching and ensuring that students acquire the knowledge and skills they’ll need academically and professionally.

Snow has ample areas of study for students – from Accounting to Zoology, and has developed a reputation as “state of the art” from university colleagues in such areas as science, premed and music.

Snow’s science department has earned a reputation for excellence nationwide. For example, over the past seven years 38 Snow students have taken the Pharmacy College Admissions Test. Twenty-five of them scored in the 95th percentile or higher (seven scored 99%). Thirty-one have been accepted into pharmacy schools.

Snow is one of only 23 2-year colleges accredited as members of the National Association of Schools of Music in the United States and the only 2-year school accredited in Utah. This means that Snow’s Horne School of Music meets the same national standards as the first two years of an accredited 4-year college and university.
Snow’s Horne School of Music features 12 student-performing groups – five choirs, three bands and two jazz ensembles.

In 2005, the National Association of Schools of Theatre awarded Snow’s theatre arts department full accreditation and membership. NAST has approximately 143 accredited institutional members and establishes national standards for undergraduate, graduate degrees and other credentials. Snow College joins Brigham Young University as the only other NAST-accredited institution in Utah and is one of only four junior colleges to achieve NAST accreditation. Snow’s theatre arts program produces four plays a year.

Student Life
Ninety percent of Snow students live in residence halls or off-campus apartments. Fortunately, Snow offers many opportunities for students seeking leadership, academic, athletic, musical or simply social experiences. There are over 43 student organizations, 18 academic clubs and 12 performance groups. Snow also offers 15 intramural sports to choose from and recreational facilities for activities such as swimming, tennis, racquetball, dance, bowling and weightlifting. Nearly all Snow students participate in at least one activity ranging from student government to intramural sports to the KAGE radio club.

Snow provides varsity athletics in football, men’s and women’s basketball, women’s volleyball and women’s softball. In 1985, Snow’s football team won the national championship and has since won several bowl games. This year, the football team enters the season ranked eighth in the prominent junior college football poll. The men’s and women’s basketball teams have combined for several league championships. In 2003-04, the men’s basketball team tied for the Scenic West Athletic Conference regular season title.

An intimate learning environment with excellent instruction, programs, student life, and facilities is offered at the most affordable price in the state of Utah. Compare tuition, fees and living expenses with other schools and you’ll find Snow to be the best educational value anywhere. To further reduce the cost of education, Snow offers scholarships, financial aid and campus employment. For more information about costs and scholarships please call 1-800-848-3399 or visit


Snow College invites students to come and be a part of the “finest two-year transfer institution in the nation.”